Who We Are

The EcoBlock team consists of professionals, city government, academics, and national lab researchers committed to partnering with neighborhoods in their transformation to resilient, low-carbon communities.

Sascha von Meier headshot

Principal Investigator;
Energy Team Co-Lead

Program Director – Electric Grid Research, California Institute for Energy and Environment 
Adjunct Professor, Department of Electric Engineering and Computer Sciences, UC Berkeley

Daniel Kammen

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor of Energy, UC Berkeley

Rich Brown

Energy Team Co-Lead

Research Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

Nikky Avila

Nkiruka “Nikky” Avila

Expert Innovation Engineer – Microgrids, Pacific Gas & Electric Company (PG&E)

Andréa Traber

Managing Principal, Integral Group

Corey Lyons

Principal, Integral Group

Cathy Leonard

Cathy Leonard

Community Team Lead

Executive Director, Oakland Neighborhoods for Equity

daniel hamilton

Sustainability Director, City of Oakland 

Christine Scott Thomson

Christine Scott Thomson

Senior Project Manager / Urban Planner, MIG

Harrison Fraker

Senior Advisor

Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, UC Berkeley

larry strain

Design/Construction Team Co-Lead

Principal, Siegel & Strain Architects

suzi marzuola

Design/Construction Team Co-Lead

Principal, Siegel & Strain Architects

Ege Yener

Ege Yener

Architectural Designer, Siegel & Strain Architects

amy dryden

Director of Strategic Innovations, Association for Energy Affordability (AEA)

David Warner Headshot

Owner & CEO, Redhorse Constructors
Co-founder, Human Needs Project

Megan Fitzgerald

Project Manager, Redhorse Constructors and Human Needs Project
Co-founder, Human Needs Project

Tim Lipman

Mobility Team Lead

Co-Director, Transportation Studies Research Center
Research Affiliate, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Sandy Robertson

Sandy Robertson

Water Team Co-Lead

Senior Research Engineer (retired), Stanford University

Craig Boman

Water Team Co-Lead

Design Engineer, Sherwood Design Engineers

Maika Nicholson

Water Team Co-Lead

Design Engineer, Sherwood Design Engineers

Kiran Jain

EcoBlock General Counsel

Principal, Cityfi

Therese Tuttle

Principal Attorney & Co-founder, Tuttle Law Group

Ted Lamm

Research Fellow, Climate Program, Center for Law, Energy & the Environment

Kate Ringness

Senior Advisor

Co-Founder & Managing Director, SmartBlock Communities

Nate Perez

Managing Director, DTA

Michael Ginsberg

Michael Ginsberg

EcoBlock Project Advisor

Vice President of Energy Transition, Bowman Consulting
Doctoral candidate, Columbia University

Project Management Team

Therese peffer

Project Manager

Program Director – Enabling Technologies, Energy Use in Buildings, California Institute for Energy and Environment

Carl Blumstein

Director, California Institute for Energy and Environment

miriam aczel

Miriam Aczel

Postdoctoral Researcher

Postdoctoral Scholar, California Institute for Energy and Environment 

Eunice Chung

Eunice Chung

Project Coordinator & Policy Analyst

Research Analyst, California Institute for Energy and Environment

Eric Lee

Eric Lee

EcoBlock Team Administrator

Deputy Director of Finance and Research Support, California Institute for Energy and Environment
Jing Wu

Jing Wu

EcoBlock Web Designer

Design and Content Strategist, California Institute for Energy and Environment